The University of Halabja is one of the Iraqi Kurdistan public universities founded in 2011 in the city of Halabja, Halabja Governorate.The university offers a variety of programs such as human sciences, law, physical education. Programs last for four years and students receive BA degrees in their corresponding fields at the end of the fourth year. It has two campuses, the main campus is situated in Halabja and the secondary is in Sharazoor District. The  first and current president of Halabja University is Dr. Khasraw Abdulla Ali
The mission of the university is to prepare highly qualified scholars and specialists in all scientific and humanities fields for Shahrazoor area in particular and Kurdistan Region in general. The university strives to provide access to higher education opportunities that enable graduate and undergraduate students to develop knowledge and skills necessary to achieve their professional goals, improve the productivity of their institution and provide leadership and service to their communities. 
The University of Halabja strives to become one of the leading universities on a regional and ultimately international level for providing and maintaining high quality learning and teaching opportunities, research, community engagement and publications in varies fields that are strongly tied to the needs and development of Halabja Governorate and the region at large. 
Prior to 2010, Halabja had a faculty, "Faculty of Basic Education" which was part of and affiliated by University of Sulaimani. Then on July 8, 2010, during the six cabinet ofKurdistan Regional Government, the KRG Council of Ministers issued resolution No. 1670 thereby declaring state University of Halabja and thus, Faculty of Basic Education departed from University of Sulaimani and became part of University of Halabja. On February 2011, Presidency of Halabja University started working with Assistant Professor, Khasraw Adbulla Ali being the head of it.
The University of Halabja has two campuses; the major campus is located at the edge of the city of Halabja close to Ababaile village. It is currently been accessed by students of three departments (physics, computer science and law) from the academic year 2015-2016. It is a fairly large one and is where all the departments are situated. The other and subsidiary campus is located in Sharazoor District containing the Department of Kurdish Language only.
Halabja University has the following colleges from which students receive BA degrees in varies fields of study:
College of Education and Humanities
1. Department of English Language
2. Department of Arabic Language
3. Department of Kurdish Language
4. Department of History
5. Department of Basic Physical Education
6. Department of Social Sciences
7. Department Principles of Religion
College of Sciences
1. Department of Physics
2. Department of Computer Science
College of Physical Education
Department of Physical Education
Department of Law

© 2019 Halabja University, Created and Developed by kod4it